top of page


Answers to your questions

  • Can Drive2u administer the Texas DPS Authorized ROAD TEST?
    Yes! We are a third party testing site and quicker than the DPS office with getting you scheduled. Please call/text/email Drive2u to see if you eligible to take the DPS Authorized Road Test. To qualify for the Third Party Skills Test (TPST) you must: -Be at least 16 years of age, have held a valid learners permit for a minimum of six months, completed an approved Teen or Parent Taught Driver Education in its entirely, and complete the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) program, - OR, Be 18-24 years of age, have completed the adult driver education course in its entirely, have a restricted driver license, and complete the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) program, - OR, Be 25 years of age or older, have a restriced drivers license, and completed the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITD) program.
  • Do I need to have a permit to drive with an instructor?
    Yes, if your age is 15 to 17, you must have completed the classroom portion of your Driver's Eduacation or Parent Taught program and obtained a Class C Permit with a 'BF' restriction from Texas DPS.
  • Do I need to practice driving on my own time in addition to my drive time with Drive2u?
    Yes, it is preferred that you practice on your own. If you do not practice, you will not learn the skills necessary to master driving safely on the roads. We recommend you practice as much as possible on your own time (with a permit). **Teens must drive with a licensed driver over the age of 21 at all times while in the front seat of the vehicle as required by law.
  • Can you help me if I fail the written test?
    Yes, we can help. Any student who has taken the written test at the DPS office and has failed, Drive2u can offer several options. Please contact me to discuss options to serve your needs.
  • Can I re-schedule or cancel my drive time with my instructor?
    YES-Remember you must cancel your drive time 24 hours in advance. This will allow you to reschedule another day and time. IF you call/text/email Drive2u, I will find a day and time that will work better for you without forfeiting your payment. *** If the instructor has arrived to pick up student for their driving lesson or if you cancel less than 1 hour prior to your scheduled time, you will have 30 minutes deducted when you reschedule your driving lesson. *** IF you have an emergency, please contact Drive2u in order to reschedule your appointment.
  • How do I schedule my drive times?
    Drive times are always available. Please schedule online or call/text/email Drive2u.
  • If I am scheduled for a drive time, how do I know if my drive time has been cancelled due to inclement weather?"
    Drive2u will notify you in advance. Please feel free to call/text/email Drive2u.
  • How quickly can i drive?
    Generally, you can get a drive time within the first week. You may schedule onine or if there is a specific day that you need, please feel free to contact Drive2u to discuss.
  • What areas do you serve?
    Driving lessons are only provided in the zip codes listed below. If you do not live within any of these zip codes, please contact DRIVE2U directly at (832) 573-9600 to schedule. 77040, 77041, 77064, 77065, 77066, 77067, 77069, 77070, 77086, 77095, 77377, 77429, 77433. Lessons outside of our service area will be allowed on a case by case basis and will be subject to additional $25 travel fee per lesson. The $25 travel fee must be paid by cash at the time of the lesson or online before the lesson.
  • How do I pay?
    We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express. All driving lessons and DPS driving tests must be paid for in advance unless other arrangements have been made in advance.
  • What kind of cars do you use for the driving lesson?
    We use late model vehicals that are equipped with automatic transmissions, dual-brake systems, and additional rear view mirrors on the instructor's side. Drive2u will also help anyone with disability hand controls.
  • Do you offer gift certificates?
    Yes we do! You will recieve a certificate with the student's name and number of drive times purchased. Call Today!
  • Are your instructors state certified?
    Yes, i am certified through the Texas Department of License Regulations (TDLR). I am a TA-Full licensed instructor meaning I can teach in a driver's education licensed school or classroom and instruct in a car. I have recieved thorough background check and fingerprints by DPS.
  • What is your refund policy?
    If a student requests a refund, you will be refunded any remaining balance MINUS any credit card fees that were incurred.
bottom of page